Skip to main content

ART 111 - Drawing I: Books

Books That Circulate

Reserve Books

These reserve books are now located on shelves in RESERVE STACKS.

 

 

 

20th Century Drawings: part 1: 1940 to the present - NC95. J6 1964

Ananse, the Web Life in Africa -NC 139. B48 A4 1979

Arshile Gorky: a retrospective of drawings/essays - NC139. G64 A4 2003

Artist by Himself: self-portrait drawings from youth to old age - NC772. A77

Artist's Complete Guide to Figure Drawing: a contemporary perspective on the classical tradition - NC765. R94 2000

Artist's Hand: Willem de Kooning Drawings, 1937-1954 - NC139. D45 2002b

Aubrey Beardsley: sixty selected drawings - NC242. B3 A4 1995

Best of Sketching and Drawing: a collection of still lifes, portraits and landscapes - NC975. S85 1999

Drawing Book: a survey of drawing, the primary means of expression - NC710. D739 2007

Drawing Essentials: a guide to drawing from observation - NC735. R624 2009

Drawing From Life: the journal as art - NC53. N49 2005

Drawing From the Modern: 1975 - 2005 - B/c95. M883 2005

Drawing Lessons From the Great Masters - NC765. H15 2009

Drawing Now: eight propositions - NC15. N55 2005

Drawing, a Contemporary Approach, Instructor's Edition - ART 112

Drawings by Utagawa Kuniyoshi from the Collection of the National Museum of Ethnology - NC350. U8 A4 1988

Drawings of Jim Dine - NC139. D56 A4 2004

Drawings - Toulouse-Lautrec - NC248. T63 P63 1985

European Master Drawings Unveiled - Van der Goes, Michelangelo, Van Goyen, Fragonard, and other masters from Belgian collections - NC225. E983 2002

Eva Hesse drawing - N6537. H4 A4 2006b

Experimental Drawing - NC660. K34 1992

Eye on Europe: prints, books, & multiples, 1960 to now - NC225. W93 2006

Force: dynamic life drawing for animators - NC765. M377 2006

French Drawing of the 20th Century: 149 reproductions - NC1130 D482

French Impressionists: a selection of drawings of the French 19th century - NC1130. M6 1962

From Mind, Heart and Hand: Persian, Turkish and Indian drawings from the Stuart Cary Welch collection - NC321. W45 2004

George Seurat, drawings - NC248. SA4 1984

How to Draw What You See - NC730. D4 1996

Italian Drawings From the 15th to the 19th Century - NC1150. A5 1963

Jonathan Borofsky - N6537. B64 A4 1984

Leon Golub: don't tread on me!: drawings 1947 - 2004 - ND237. G6113 L46 2004

Lines of Vision: drawings by contemporary women - NC108. L54 1989

Modern Prints & Drawings: a guide to a better understanding of modern draughtsmanship - NE940. S3 1954

New York Collects: drawings and watercolors, 1900 - 1950 - NC95. N48 1999

Re-aligning Vision: alternative currents in South American Drawing - NC189. R4 1997

Salvador Dali 1904 - 1989: the paintings - ND813. D3 D143 2001

Spirit of Drawing - a sensory meditation guide to creative expression - NC730. S435 2007

Surrealist Drawings - NC95.5. S97 1974

Thinking is Form: the drawings of Joseph Beuys - NC251. B45 A4 1993

Toulouse-Lautrec: drawings - NC248. T63 P642 1976

Twentieth-Century American Drawings: the figure in context - NC108. C855 1984

Vitamin D: new perspectives in drawing - NC95. V58 2005

Woodner Collection: master drawings - NC225. W65 1990

Search

MCC Search logo

Search the MCC online catalog to find other books on art. If MCC does not own the item for which you are searching, then make an Interlibrary loan request to have the material sent here. See the Interlibrary Loan Service box below.

MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:

  • Renew books and videos
  • Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
  • Create favorites lists
  • View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)

More Search Options

Library of Congress Classification for Fine Arts

The Library of Congress Classification for Fine Arts is Subclass NC - this covers Drawing, Design and Illustration.

These are known as call numbers in the MCC Library Catalog or "shelf location".

NC1-1940 - Drawing.  Design.  Illustration

NC1-45 - General Including collective biography

NC50-266 - History of drawing

NC390-670 - Study and teaching

NC673-677 - Competitions

NC703-725 - General works

NC730-758 - Technique

NC760-825 - Special subjects

NC845-915 - Graphic art materials

NC930 - Conservation and restoration of drawings

NC950-(996) - Illustration

NC997-1003 - Commercial art.  Advertising art

NC1280-1284 - Printed ephemera.  Imagerie populaire

NC1300-1766 - Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.

NC1800-1850 - Posters

NC1860-1896 - Greeting cards, postcards, invitations, book jackets, etc.

NC1920-1940 - Copying, enlarging, and reduction of drawings

Interlibrary Loans Service

Inter-library Loan Service

 

 

Inter-library Loan (ILL) is a service through which materials from other libraries may be borrowed.

This service is available to all Connecticut residents who own a MCC library card.

Materials available to borrow include books, periodical articles, Eric documents,music scores, and some audiovisual materials may be requested.

Complete volumes/issues of periodicals, some audio-visual materials and materials that are non-circulating or in high demand are not available for inter-library lending.

The time taken to receive an inter-library loan is affected by numerous factors, most of which are beyond the library's immediate control. Usually, it takes 1 to 3 weeks to receive a book and 4 to 10 days to receive a periodical article.

Lending libraries determine the loan period of their materials, fines as well as whether or not the renewals are allowed. A renewal request should be made 2 days prior to the due date written on the yellow slip.

There is no charge for routine use of this service. However, if costs for a loan or photocopy exceed what is customary and usual for the library, we will contact you to ask if you would be willing to pay before the item is requested.

We will contact you by phone or email as soon as we receive the material. You may pick up and return the material at the MCC Library circulation desk during our regular hours. If the book is not picked up before the due date, it will be returned to the lending library.

How to submit a request - A separate form must be filled out for each item you wish to borrow. You may submit a request by completing an Inter-library Loan Request at the Circulation Desk. You may fax us the form. You may also use our online Inter-library Loan Service by clicking the following links:

 

For books - http://www.manchestercc.edu/library/interlibrary-loans/book-request-form/

For articles and audiovisuals - http://www.manchestercc.edu/library/interlibrary-loans/periodical-request-form/

 

*The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the Law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of the Copyright Law.