Skip to main content

ART 111 - Drawing I: Articles

ARTstor

ARTstor - ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images of the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. These community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. In order to save images register an account and login when opening ARTstor. Also if you are trying to access ARTstor off-campus you will need to register an account while on-campus.

Tips on Searching a Database

Recommended Databases

 

Find Articles on Art-Related Topics

 

Specialty Databases

ARTstor - ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images of the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. These community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. In order to save images register an account and login when opening ARTstor. Also if you are trying to access ARTstor off-campus you will need to register an account while on-campus.

Films on Demand - Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the Films Demand platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, store quick links to favorite videos, and manage their entire collection.

 

EBSCO Host Databases:

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Gale Net

Gale in Context - Biography - This database integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Or, combine search criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Visual Fine Arts Magazines & Journals

 

Visual & Fine Arts Magazines & Journals

 

 

American Craft - Celebrates contemporary craft, focusing on achievements in the craft media. Includes artist profiles, exhibition reviews, lists of museum and gallery exhibits, and discussions of historical as well as contemporary crafts.

 

Aperture - Photographic essays, without compromise, of the most significant work in photography.

 

Art in America - Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.

 

ArtForum International - A critical journal for contemporary culture worldwide. Contains design and color illustrations.

 

ArtNews - This magazine reports on the personalities, trends and events that shape the international art world.

 

Ceramics Monthly - an internationally distributed magazine on ceramic art and craft. Each issue includes articles on potters and ceramics artists from throughout the world, exhibitions, and production processes, as well as critical commentary, book and video reviews, clay and glaze recipes, kiln designs and firing techniques, advice from experts in the field, and ads for available materials and equipment. While principally covering contemporary work, the magazine also looks back at influential artists and events from the past.

 

Clay Times - is one of the world’s favorite ceramics magazines, serving studio potters and professional clay artists, teachers and students of the ceramic arts, art critics and ceramic researchers, museum curators and ceramic art collectors, clay hobbyists, and pottery enthusiasts of all kinds.

 

Digital Photo - Formerly known as PC Photo, Digital Photo covers the new desktop darkroom or home photo lab technologies, trends and methods for modern photo and computer enthusiasts. It is edited for a broad spectrum of readers, from the beginner to the advanced, who want to know how to creatively and effectively control and produce exciting images.

 

Esopus - a twice-yearly arts magazine featuring fresh, unmediated perspectives on contemporary culture from a wide range of creative professionals. It includes long-form artists’ projects, critical writing by practitioners, fiction, poetry, visual essays, interviews, and, in each issue, a CD of specially commissioned music relating to a particular theme.

 

Jewelry Artist - Formerly known as Lapidary Journal, Jewelry Artist is the premier source of information about the gem, bead, lapidary, jewelry-making and mineral fields.

 

PDN Photo District News - PDN is packed with the latest trends, techniques, business and legal news and new products in the world of photography.

 

Photoshop User - The official magazine of NAPP and the most trusted resource for Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom training, advice and how-to information in the graphic design, photography and digital art worlds.

 

Popular Photography & Imaging - Covers all aspects of amateur and professional photography, both art and technique. Reviews cameras and accessories.

 

Women in the Arts - reflects the mission of the National Museum of Women in the Arts, providing readers with unique educational information on women's contributions in the visual arts and other artistic disciplines, including music, literature, film, theater, and dance.