Skip to main content

Research Skills: Articles & Journals

Basic research skills such as finding books, journal articles, working with databases, citing your sources, and more.

Magazines and Journals


Product DetailsProduct Details

 What is the difference?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular periodical like Time or People. Magazines have many color photos and advertisements.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly periodical that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Here are some examples:

Peer-Reviewed Journals:
American Journal of Sociology
New England Journal of Medicine
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Literary Review

General or Popular Magazines:
Newsweek
Fortune
Science Today
Psychology Newsletter
Atlantic Monthly

Click here to access a more detailed comparison table or watch the video below.

Databases

For off-campus access, after choosing a database, please log in with your NetID and password.

To find research citations and full-text articles on a given topic, select the appropriate database(s). You can either search by database name or browse by subject. If you need help, please contact us.

Search Strategy

  • Choose correct search terms. Start with a keyword search, find an article on your topic, click on the title and look for the given SUBJECT TERMS and enter them into the Advanced Search field to find more.
  • Narrow your search by using Boolean operators. What's that?

EBSCOhost Tutorial

Watch this video to learn the basics of search EBSCOhost Research Databases, including Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, and MasterFile. 

Free Online Journals

Open access journals provide articles for free. Copyright applies and citations are required for all sources!

Locate e-Journal Titles

Browse E-Journal Search to locate journal titles available in print or electronically  through the MCC Library databases. You can search by title or subject.