Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II Resources: Articles

Material on World War II, 1939-1945, available in the library.

Recommended Databases

Find articles on World War II in the following databases:


Ebsco Host

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Gale Net

Academic Onefile - Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Discovering Collection - Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic picklists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

History Resource Center: U.S. - History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.

History Resource Center: World - History Resource Center: World is a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronlogic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals.

InfoTrac U.S. History eCollection - Full text History journals.

InfoTrac World History eCollection - Full text History journals.