If you need assistance finding information for your research project, a librarian can assist you in various ways. You can get help from a librarian whether you or on or off-campus.
Ask a Librarian
Call the Reference Desk during library hours. Call 860.512.2883.
Email an MCC Librarian. You should use this service Mondays through Friday.
InfoAnytime Reference Service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Talk to a librarian in real time any time.
Face to face. Visit us at the Reference Desk during library hours.
The bibliography or list of works cited at the end of your research paper is an acknowledgment of the sources of information you used. Sources of information might include books, magazine or journal articles, or interviews.
Many courses at MCC will require you to complete some type of research assignment. It is important to learn how to use the library to find information that you will need to complete that research assignment. These steps outline the library search strategy. This library search strategy can be adapted to any type of research you are doing.
This might seem obvious but it is important to choose a topic that is interesting to you. Take some time to brainstorm about possible topics that you might want to investigate. Write down several keywords that describe your topic. Because you will spend a considerable amount of time completing a research assignment, it will be more rewarding to do research on a topic that you want to learn more about.
For example, to find information for a paper you are writing on computers, write down what interests you about computers. Your list may contain the following topics pertaining to computers:
When writing down keywords include related terms and synonyms. You will quickly see your research paper taking shape.
B. Consult Your Professor
Many times your professor will provide your class with a list of topics to choose from or you might be given the option to choose a topic on your own. In either case, you should always check with your professor to make sure your topic is acceptable. You should also ask your professor any questions about the assignment that you might have.
Once you have chosen a topic to
research the next step is to find some background information about the topic.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources provide quick overviews
of a topic that are useful when starting your research. These background sources
provide short entries on a topic and many also provide a list (called a
bibliography) of other books, articles and websites on your topic. MCC Library
has many general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries and other
reference sources in the reference collection.
For example, to find background information on the topic of computers, start with a general encyclopedia such as The New Encyclopaedia Britannica or the Encyclopedia Americana. Look under "Computer" and you will find a definition as well as the history of the computer. Reading through an entry in a general encyclopedia will give you ideas on how to focus your research.
A common problem finding a topic with a
definite focus. Many students start out with trying to research a topic that is
too broad and eventually the topic has to be narrowed down by focusing on a
particular aspect of the subject. Remember that in a research assignment you
will only be required to write a certain number of pages on your topic and you
will never be able to cover all aspects of a topic if it is too broad. As
mentioned earlier, the best way to do this is to start out by writing down some
keywords that will best describe the aspects of a topic on which you want to
For example, after reading the entry for "Computer" in a general encyclopedia you may decide to focus on computer security. From here, you can go on to specialized encyclopedias like the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, or MacMillan Encyclopedia of Computers where you will find detailed entries for computer security. So far, your search looks like this:
has a large collection of circulating books, audiotapes and videos. The
resources that are on the shelves in the MCC Library have been chosen by faculty
members and the reference librarians in order to support the curriculum here at
MCC. You will find many resources in the collection that will be helpful for
completing a research assignment.
To find materials housed in the MCC Library, use the library's online catalog (MCC Library Catalog).
The MCC Library Catalog is an online "card catalog" that is used to locate books, audiobooks, DVDs, and CDs that are available in the MCC Library. If you are unable to find what you are looking for in the MCC Library, reQuest can be used to search hundreds of Connecticut libraries to find books, videos, CDs and DVDs. The reQuest Magazine Catalog can be searched to identify Connecticut libraries that may subscribe to a particular magazine, journal or newspaper.
The MCC Library has a collection of
electronic databases that will enable you to find magazine,
newspaper, and academic journal articles on your topic. Articles can be very
helpful in your research because many times they provide current information on
your research topic.
Finding Periodical Articles on Your Topic
To find articles on a topic, you will need to use an electronic database(s) that provides citations to those articles. The MCC Library subscribes to a number of electronic databases.
Periodicals are publications (magazines, newspapers, and journals) that are issued at regular intervals. Periodical articles provide up-to-date information and are used to supplement information found in books. Because articles are so timely, it is essential for students to use them when doing research. You will find popular magazines and scholarly journals in the MCC Library.
Article citations identify the article and contain the following information: author, article title, periodical title, date of publication, volume number, issue number, and page numbers. The citation may also indicate special features of the article such as illustrations, diagrams, graphs or portraits. Print the citation and keep it with your research materials. You will need the citations to prepare your bibliography or "works cited" page. Take a look at the following citation from Gale's General Onefile:
Un-goofy-ing Those Urban Legends is the title of the article.
Charles Bowen is the author. Editor & Publisher is the title of the
periodical. April 17, 2000 is the publication date, and pi24 means that the
article begins on page i24.
Understanding the elements of a citation will enable you to use many different indexes, both paper and electronic, in the libraries you visit and do research in.
A citation may contain an abstract. An abstract is a summary of the important parts of an article or text. Many articles that are listed in our electronic databases contain abstracts. Reading the abstract will allow you to determine if the information is what you are seeking. If the full text (actual article) of the article is included with the abstract you can print it out for future reference. If the full text is not available, try to locate the article in the MCC Library periodical collection.
Plagiarism is simply using someone's work and not
acknowledging or giving credit to the original author(s).
I am plagiarizing if I:
For more information regarding Plagiarism visit:
Learn to be critical thinkers. When conducting research on the World Wide Web, evaluate the sites you are viewing using the criteria found in this section.
· ACCURACY Anyone can publish information on the web. The information may or may not be accurate. Most web sites are not verified by editors and fact checkers. Look for e-mail, contact address and phone numbers. You want to find out if the author is qualified to write the web page.
· AUTHORITY Web sites should enable the researcher to find out about the authors. Look for names, where they work, credentials, addresses, and e-mail addresses. Look for the URL domain. Is the author affiliated with an educational institution (edu), a government agency (gov), an organization (org), or a commercial site (com)? Do the authors/publishers list their qualifications?
· OBJECTIVITY Are the goals and aims of the persons or groups responsible for the web site clearly stated? Is the group/person/organization legitimate? Some sites are thinly disguised commercials or opinion pages. Does the author express his/her opinions? Ask yourself why the page was written and for whom.
· CURRENCY Dates are not usually included on web pages. Check for dead links and outdated information. If you see a date listed, it may be the date of posting or the date of revision.
· COVERAGE Are you getting all the information this site has to offer? Do you need specialized software to access the information? Are you required to pay a fee to access the information? Is the content of the web page balanced with text and graphics? Are links relevant to the document’s content? Good web sites should contain a statement explaining or summarizing topics covered on the site.
PC 7/98, 1/06