Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 096 Introduction to College English - W. Haynes: Home

Library Hours & Contacts

Library Hours

 

Semester Hours

Monday & Tuesday: 2pm - 7pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 9am - 2pm
Friday - Sunday: CLOSED 
Library Online: 24/7

Hours vary when courses are not in session and during intersession. See complete hours listing »

Contact Us


Search

MCC Search logo

MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:

  • Renew books and videos
  • Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
  • Create favorites lists
  • View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)

More Search Options

English 96 Introduction to College English

 

 

ENG* 096: Introduction to College English

ENG 096 prepares students for the reading and writing demands in Composition and other college-level courses by integrating reading, writing, and critical thinking. Student writing will focus on understanding, reporting on, reacting to, and analyzing the ideas of others. Texts will serve as models and sources for students to refine their skills in exposition, interpretation, and argumentation. Students learn and practice specific college-level skills through critical reading and writing, class discussions, lectures, group presentations, or workshops. This course does not satisfy an English requirement or an elective in any degree program, nor do its credits count toward graduation.
Prerequisites: Students will place into ENG* 096 via the placement process.
Offered: Fall,Spring

Articles on Distance Learning

Articles on Arranged Marriages

Articles on Policing the Police

Please note that the MLA citations appear at the end of each article and essay. You may copy and paste to your Work Cited page.

Subject Guide

Evelyn Angry-Smith's picture
Evelyn Angry-Smith
Contact:
MCC Library
Great Path PO Box 1046
MS #15
Manchester CT 06045
860.512.2874
Website
Subjects:English

Find Articles

EBSCO Host Databases:

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

GALE Databases:

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

 

Recommended Databases for Your Search