Reference Resources: Scientists
The following reference books can be found in the reference collection of the library. Reference sources provide background information and statistics on a variety of topics. Reference sources can also help you determine what topics to research as well as help you narrow down your search strategy.
Notable Women in the Physical Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists 2nd Ed. by 
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists 3rd Ed. by 
To Fathom More: African American Scientists and Inventors by 
Doctors and Discoveries: Lives That Created Today's Medicine by 
A to Z of Women in Science and Math by 
American Women in Science: 1950 to the Present: A Biographical Dictionary by 
Biographical Dictionary of American Science: The Seventeenth Through the Nineteenth Centuries by Gale Databases
Gale Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Search Credo Reference for sources of information on a variety of topics in leading reference publications. Sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries and biographies.
