Skip to main content

Reporting and Writing News Stories B222 - Internet Reporting Exercise: Find Articles

Resources that will help the Communications student complete the internet reporting exercise.

How to search a database (EBSCO)

Recommended MCC Library Databases & Descriptions

 

 

EBSCO Host Databases:

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Masterfile Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Newspaper Source - Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

 

GaleNet Databases:

Academic Onefile - 1980 - MAR, 2010- Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Biography Resource Center - March 2010 This database integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Or, combine search criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Global Issues in Context - March 2010. Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

History Resource Center: U.S. - History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.

iCONN Custom Newspapers - All Newspapers with articles updated as recently as March 29, 2010. 1980 - 2010.

LegalTrac - 1980 - Mar 2010 - Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

 

ProQuest Databases:

ABI/INFORM Complete - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. 1971 - current.

The Christian Science Monitor - (1988 - current) Local and regional news coverage - newspaper.

Criminal Justice Periodicals - Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Coverage: 1981 - present.

Hartford Courant - Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992-current.

Hoover's Company Records - Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

National Newspaper Core (on-campus) National Newspaper Core (off-campus) - (1985 - current) Local, regional and national news coverage - newspapers.

New York Times (on-campus) New York Times (off-campus) - (1980 - current)  New York newspaper.

ProQuest Historical Newspaper Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922) (on-campus) ProQuest Historical Newspaper Hartford Courant (1764 -1922) (off-campus) - The Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922 ) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

ProQuest Historical Newspaper New York Times (1851 - 2008) (on-campus) ProQuest Historical Newspaper New York Times (1851 - 2008) (off-campus) - The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Wall Street Journal (on-campus) Wall Street Journal (off-campus) - The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage: 1984-current.

Washington Post (on-campus) Washington Post (off-campus) - (1987 - current) Local and regional news coverage - newspaper.

Specialty Databases:

JSTOR (on-campus) JSTOR (off-campus) - Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.