Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO 111 - Intro to Nutrition: Reference Sources

Find sources on nutrition.

Reference Books

The following books are located in the REFERENCE COLLECTION of the library and stay in the collection at all times. You can use these in the library.

Why choose a reference source?

Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics.  Use them to:

reference

      • explore topics for research;
      • get background information;
      • explain unfamiliar ideas.

Reference sources are available at the MCC Library in both print (left) and electronic format (below).

Health & Wellness Resource & Alternative Health Module

Health & Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module - Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.  Gale Virtual Reference Library can be accessed here

Click here to see the results for Nutrition.

CREDOreference

http://corp.credoreference.com/images/Credo_logos/credo_4c_transparent_50w.gif CREDOreference is a database of over 500 reference e-books.  Find a collection of articles in electronic reference sources dealing with this subject. CREDOreference can be accessed here.  (Off campus access requires your NETID and password.)

Click here to get to the topic page for Nutrition.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Encyclopædia Britannica.svgThis is an electronic version of the Encyclopedia Brittanica that can be accessed on campus and off campus.