Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Hours and Contacts
Other Guides That May Be Useful
Speech 4: Informative or Persuasive Speech
Instructor: J. Sanchez
COM* 173: Public Speaking
This course is designed to encourage students to develop their speaking and listening skills in order to become more confident communicators. The course introduced students to communication as an interactive process and emphasizes developing effective public presentation skills. Instruction stresses organization, research, writing, delivery and audience adaptation.
Informative and Persuasive Speech Assignments
On Your Birthday Resources
Historical Hartford Courant This link opens in a new window
The Hartford Courant (1764-1994) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Some Recommended Databases
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This is excellent source of information on current topics, featuring essays of opposing viewpoints. For additional research on your search topic, click on the tabs at the top of the screen to obtain reference sources, relevant newspaper and magazine articles, as well as statistics, images and websites.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.