Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pearl Harbor: Find Articles

How to Search a Database

MCC Library Databases That May Be Used While on Campus

Vertical aerial view of "Battleship Row", beside Ford Island, during the early part of the horizontal bombing attack on the ships moored there. Photographed from a Japanese aircraft.

Photo and caption credit - National Archives and Records Administration Public Domain Photographs

These are MCC Library databases you may use while on campus:

GaleNet Databases:

Biography Resource Center (on-campus)  - March 2010 This database integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Or, combine search criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

Discovering Collection (on-campus)  - Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic pick lists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (on-campus) - Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Specialty Databases:

Credo Reference (on-campus use only) - Credo General Reference is a completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 541 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. 

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (on-campus use only) - Electronic version of the Encyclopedia Britannica delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and many other research tools provides a variety of reliable sources all from on database.