Skip to main content

HLT 103: Investigations in Health Careers - Nancy LaRoche-Shovak: Finding Articles

Resources on health careers as well as finding evidence based medical research at the MCC Library.

The National Library of Medicine

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Finding Medical Articles

The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles dealing with health, medicine and science. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO's Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines.

MEDLINE  provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL  is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981.

Gale Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Subject Guide

Paula Pini's picture
Paula Pini
Contact:
Great Path, M.S. #15, P.O. Box 1046 Manchester, CT 06045-1046
860.512.2877