Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Month: Dictionaries, Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Resources on women in history available at Manchester Community College Library

Reference Resources: Books

The following books are located in the reference section of the library and stay in the collection at all times.

CREDOreference

CREDOreference is a database of over 500 reference e-books.  Type in "women's history" for a collection of articles in electronic reference sources dealing with women and women's history. CREDOreference can be accessed on campus and off campus.  (Off campus access requires your NETID and password.)

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.  Gale Virtual Reference Library can be accessed on campus and off campus.

Gale General Reference Center GOLD

Gale General Reference Center GOLD is a general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.  General Reference Center Gold can be accessed on campus and off campus.

Discovering Collection

Gale's Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic pick lists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.  Gale's Discovering Collection can be accessed on campus and off campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Paula Pini
Contact:
Great Path, M.S. #15, P.O. Box 1046 Manchester, CT 06045-1046
860.512.2877