Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's History Month: Books in the MCC Library

Resources on women in history available at Manchester Community College Library

Books on Women & Women's History

The following books can be found in the MCC Library and can be charged out.

On Campus Access

How to find Books, Videos, CDs, DVDs, Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles using the MCC Library Website

Use the MCC Library Catalog to locate books, videos and DVDs and other materials owned by the library. This is how:

  1. Go to the MCC Library homepageby typing in the website address of the MCC Library in the location or address bar of your browser.
  2. On the left hand side of the screen click on MCC Library Catalog.
  3. At the next screen, you are in the Manchester Community College Library Online Catalog. Type in your search term(s) to do a Keywords Search. It is best to use quotes to search phrases (ex. "human rights"). You may also do a Title search if looking for a particular title or an Author search if looking for a specific author's works or a Subject search to look for a specific subject.
  4. The results list gives you information about an item (location, call number, status) to help you locate it within the library.

Use Magazine, Journal & Newspapers Databases to find magazine, journal and newspaper articles. This is how:

  1. Follow step 1 printed above.
  2. On the left hand side of the screen click on Magazine, Journal, and Newspaper Databases.
  3. At the next screen choose the database you wish to search. If you are unfamiliar with these databases take the time to review the description of each database located on the lower half of the page. Click on the underlined database name to get into the database.

Off Campus Access

To Access Databases from Off Campus:

  1. Go to the myCommNet portal by clicking on the myCommNet bar on the college homepage or type http://www.my.commnet.edu  in the address bar of your browser.
  2. Login using your NETID and PASSWORD.
  3. Click on the Library tab.
  4. Click on the database link of your choice or click on the more...Databases link to find a list of all the databases available for a particular vendor.

Famous Women

The following books can be found in the MCC Library and can be charged out.