LibGuides: Astronomy: Articles, Journals, Databases

Recommended Databases

The following databases can be accessed off-campus to find articles.

Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CQ Researcher
An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography. Covers 1923 - present.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. The MCC Library is subscribed to the Arts & Sciences I package. Temporary, free access to all JSTOR journal archive collections and primary source collections is available through June 2022 in response to Covid-19.
MasterFILE Premier
This database provides access to full text articles from more than 2,000 magazines and journals covering a wide range of subject areas including general reference, business, education, health, general science and multi-cultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,800 other publications. The database also features full text book reviews, biographies and primary source documents. An image collection of photos, maps and flags is also available.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Locate e-Journal Titles by Subject

E-Journal Search
Search for Electronic Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers by title or subject area.

Browse the journal titles for Astronomy available from the Damato Library, both in print and online.

Print Journals (Library use only)

Astronomy (latest 5 years)
Sky & Telescope (Latest 3 years)
Science News (Latest 2 years, also online)
Scientific America (May 2006 -)

Magazines and Journals

What is the difference?

"Magazine" is often used to describe a popular periodical like Time or People. Magazines have many color photos and advertisements.

“Journal” is used to describe a scholarly periodical that is written by experts. Journal articles tend to be longer and provide extensive citations to additional research.

Here are some examples:

Peer-Reviewed Journals:
American Journal of Sociology
New England Journal of Medicine
Journal of Biological Chemistry
Journal of Counseling Psychology
Literary Review

General or Popular Magazines:
Newsweek
Fortune
Science Today
Psychology Newsletter
Atlantic Monthly

Click here to access a more detailed comparison table or watch the video below.