Astronomy: Images

The following collections provide images for use. Be sure to read the guidelines carefully and provide citations and source recognition when using any images in your work.

• Apollo Image Atlas
  Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.

• Emilio Segrè Visual Archives (Niels Bohr Library, American Institute of Physics)
  7,000 historical lithographs, photographs, engravings, slides and other illustrative resources of 20th century physicists and astronomers available online for reference only

• JSC Digital Image Collection
  9,000 images from NASA's Johnson Space Center press release photos from the Apollo, Gemini, Mercury, Skylab, and Shuttle missions

• KSC Shuttle Photo and Video Archive (NASA)

• http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html
  APOD

• Hubble Gallery
  Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.

• NASA Images
  A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.

• National Optical Astronomy Observatory Image Gallery
  The gallery includes pictures taken with the facilities of the National Optical Astronomy Observatory, and also pictures of their telescopes, instruments and history.

• National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) Image Gallery
  A collection of astronomical images taken with NRAO instruments, as well as photographs of NRAO telescopes and facilities.

• Science Photo Library (SPL)
  "World's leading provider of science photos" 100,000 science, technology & industry, space & astronomy, history of science & medicine and more images

• Science & Society Picture Library (Science Museum, London)
  Aeronautics, chemistry, optics, physics, space technology, rocketry and more images

• Sloan Digital Sky Survey
  Data, pictures, and more from this project to map the entire sky.

• Space NIX: Nasa Image Exchange (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)