Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry: Finding Articles

Resources available in the MCC Library on Chemistry.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Finding articles on Chemistry

The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles on chemistry. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO's Academic Search Premier (on campus access) and EBSCO's Academic Search Premier (off campus access) is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

MEDLINE  (on campus access) and MEDLINE (off campus access) provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

GALE Databases

Academic OneFile (off campus access) and Academic OneFile (on campus access) is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Expanded Academic ASAP (off campus access) and Expanded Academic ASAP (on campus access) From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!

Discovering Collection (off campus access) and Discovering Collection (on campus access) Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic pick lists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

Science in Context (off campus access) and Science in Context (on campus access) Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)  (off campus access) and GREENR (on campus access) The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

JSTOR (off campus access) and JSTOR (on campus access) With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Paula Pini
Contact:
Great Path, M.S. #15, P.O. Box 1046 Manchester, CT 06045-1046
860.512.2877