Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 121: World Civilization I: Databases

This guide will provide additional resources for the students in Dr. Cieglo's World Civilization I course.

Databases for World Historians

For historians, World History in Context, EBSCO Academic Search Premier and History Reference Center are excellent sources.

Films on Demand

Databases for World Historians

World History in Context - World History in Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, reaching back to the ancient world and forward to today’s headlines. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content put this vast topic into context for students.

Academic Search Premier - This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

History Reference Center - This comprehensive database covers ancient to modern history of the world. The database provides access to thousands of full-text articles from reference books, encyclopedias and history books, as well as leading history magazines and journals. Historical documents, maps, photos and videos are also included.

 Biography In Context - This database is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.