Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books, etc.
MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:
- Renew books and videos
- Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
- Create favorites lists
- View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)
More Search Options
Books That Might Be Useful
Factory Farming by
Call Number: SF140.L58 F33 2010 STACKS
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic. Extensive book and periodical bibliographies and a list of organizations to contact are also included.
Animal Factory by
Call Number: STACKS TD195.A34 K57 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Massive fish kills from flesh-eating parasites. Unusual concentrations of cancer and other diseases. Recalls of meats, vegetables, and fruits because of deadly E-coli bacterial contamination. Recent public health crises raise urgent questions about how our animal-derived food is raised and brought to market. This book is about our American food system gone terribly wrong--and the people who are fighting to restore sustainable farming practices and save our limited natural resources. Investigative journalist David Kirby exposes the powerful business and political interests behind large-scale factory farms, and tracks the far-reaching fallout that contaminates our air, land, water, and food. He follows three families and communities whose lives have been utterly changed by immense neighboring animal farms, turning them into unlikely activists.
Diet for a Hot Planet by
Call Number: STACKS S600.7.C54 L37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
"In 1971, Frances Moore Lappe's Diet for a Small Planet sparked a revolution in how we think about hunger, alerting millions to the hidden environmental and social impacts of our food choices. Now, nearly four decades later, her daughter, Anna Lappe, picks up the conversation. In her new book, the younger Lappe exposes another hidden cost of our food system: the climate crisis." "While you may not think "global warming" when you sit down to dinner, our tangled web of global food - from Pop-Tarts packaged in Tennessee and eaten in Texas to pork chops raised in Poland, with feed from Brazil, then shipped to South Korea - is connected to as much as one third of total greenhouse-gas emissions. Livestock alone is associated with more emissions than all of the world's transportation combined. Move over, Hummer. Say hello to the hamburger." "If we're serious about the climate crisis, says Lappe, we have to talk about food.
Food Security and Sociopolitical Stability by
Call Number: STACKS HD9000.5 .F5967 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-15
Global food price spikes in 2008 and again in 2011 coincided with a surge of political unrest in low- and middle-income countries. Angry consumers took to the streets in scores of nations. In some places, food riots turned violent, pressuring governments and in a few cases contributed to their overthrow. Foreign investors sparked a new global land rush, adding a different set of pressures. With scientists cautioning that the world has entered a new era of steadily rising food prices, perhaps aggravated by climate change, the specter of widespread food insecurity and sociopolitical instability weighs on policymakers worldwide.
The Fate of Food by
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF HD9000.5 .L57 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Through her interviews and adventures with farmers, scientists, activists, and engineers, Little tells the story of human innovation and explores approaches both new and old to food production while charting the growth of a movement that could redefine sustainable food on a grand scale.
More Books of Interest
Food Politics by
Call Number: STACKS HD1415 .P12 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-07
An overview of food politics -- Food production and population growth -- The politics of high food prices -- The politics of chronic hunger -- The politics of famine -- The green revolution controversy -- Food aid and food power -- The politics of obesity -- The politics of farm subsidies and trade -- Agriculture, the environment, and farm animals -- Agribusiness, supermarkets, and fast food -- Organic and local food -- Food safety and genetically engineered food -- Who governs the world food system?
Examines the politics of food, discussing convenience foods, under-regulated commercial farms, backlash against environmentalists and consumer activists, agricultural failure in third world countries, and other related topics.
The World According to Monsanto by
Call Number: STACKS HD9482.U64 M6613 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
World According to Monsanto tells the little-known yet shocking story of this agribusiness giant-the world's leading producer of GMOs (genetically modified organisms)-and how its new "green" face is no less troubling than its PCB- and Agent Orange-soaked past." "Robin reports that, following its long history of manufacturing hazardous chemicals and lethal herbicides, Monsanto is now marketing itself as a "life sciences" company, seemingly convinced about the virtues of sustainable development. However, Monsanto now controls the majority of the yield of the world's genetically modified corn and soy-ingredients found in more than 95 percent of American households-and its alarming legal and political tactics to maintain this monopoly are the subject of worldwide concern."
"Released to great acclaim and controversy in France, throughout Europe, and in Latin America, The World According to Monsanto is sure to change the way we think about food safety and the corporate control of our food supply."
Genetic Roulette by
Call Number: STACKS TP248. 65. F66 S567 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-16
The biotech industry's claim that genetically modified (GM) foods are safe is shattered in this groundbreaking book. Sixty-five health risks of the foods that Americans eat every day are presented in easy-to-read two-page spreads. The left page is designed for the quick scanning reader; it includes bullets, illustrations, and quotes. The right side offers fully referenced text, describing both research studies and theoretical risks. The second half of Genetic Roulette shows how safety assessments on GM crops are not competent to identify the health problems presented in the first half. It also exposes how industry research is rigged to avoid finding problems.
Climate Change by
Call Number: STACKS QC903 .B43 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-18
"Climate change is one of the most controversial and misunderstood issues of the 21st century. This book provides a clear understanding of the issue by presenting scientific facts to refute falsehoods and misinformation-and to confirm the validity of other assertions. Provides a broad overview of the subject of climate change that is specifically written to be accessible and interesting for senior high school or introductory college-level audiences. Presents a comprehensive explanation of the science of climate change that directly addresses widely held misconceptions head-on-a strategy that has been demonstrated in education research to be more effective in dispelling myths and advancing student learning than straight fact-based teaching. Focuses on providing quantifiable, evidence-based information on climate change-and acknowledging instances when conflicting data exists-from the most reputable and qualified sources."
Food Politics by
Call Number: STACKS TX360.U6 N47 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Undermining dietary advice
Working the system
Exploiting kids, corrupting schools
Deregulating dietary supplements
Conclusion: the politics of food choice
Afterword: food politics : five years later and beyond
Formerly Known As Food by
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RA784 .L39 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
In this book, Kristin Lawless argues that, because of the degradation of our diet, our bodies are literally changing from the inside out. The billion-dollar food industry is reshaping our food preferences, altering our brains, changing the composition of our microbiota, and even affecting the expression of our genes. Lawless chronicles how this is happening and what it means for our bodies, health, and survival, going beyond nutrition to issues of food choice, class, race, and gender and presenting her philosophy of eating that she calls the "Whole Egg Theory."
Recipe for America by
Call Number: STACKS HD9005 .R525 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
In Recipe for America, food activist Jill Richardson shows how sustainable agriculture—where local farms raise food that is healthy for consumers and animals and does not damage the environment—offers the only solution to America’s food crisis. In addition to highlighting the harmful conditions at factory farms, this timely and necessary book details the rising grassroots food movement, which is creating an agricultural system that allows people to eat sustainably, locally, and seasonally.
Rebuilding the Foodshed by
Call Number: STACKS HD9000.5 .A314 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-31
Showcasing some of the most promising, replicable models for growing, processing, and distributing sustainably grown food, this book points the reader toward the next stages of the food revolution. It also covers the full landscape of the burgeoning local-food movement, from rural to suburban to urban, and from backyard gardens to large-scale food enterprises.
This Crazy Vegan Life by
Call Number: STACKS TX392 .P565 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-02
Being vegan is not only about a plant- based diet. It means taking a whole new look at health, fitness, lifestyle choices, and the world. Christina Pirello not only advocates the development of animal-free alternatives for the benefit of humans, animals, and the environment, but also promotes their impact on wellness. Beyond the value of eating whole, and organic foods, Pirello explores a host of subjects from nutrition and fitness to education and emotional well-being as she helps readers take control of their lives and achieve their personal goals, whether they want to lose weight, regain health and vitality, or simply look and feel better.