Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for World Historians
For historians, World History and U.S. History in Context, EBSCO Academic Search Premier and History Reference Center are excellent sources.
Gale in Context: World History
World History in Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, reaching back to the ancient world and forward to today’s headlines. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content put this vast topic into context for students.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
History Reference Center
This comprehensive database covers ancient to modern history of the world. The database provides access to thousands of full-text articles from reference books, encyclopedias and history books, as well as leading history magazines and journals. Historical documents, maps, photos and videos are also included.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
World War I
World War I (01:46)
From Title: The Congress
The alliance between President Wilson and the sixty-third progressive congress ended when the president asked for a declaration of war with Germany. The congress split; some were in favor of the war, others were not.
World War I DVDs in the MCC Library
World War I in Color by
Call Number: DVD W
Publication Date: 2010
This definitive history of World War I uses rare archive footage from worldwide sources, including Britain's Imperial War Museum. The original black and white archival film was colorized using computer aided-technology.
The First World War; the complete series by
Call Number: +DVD First World War: complete series
Publication Date: 2003
This definitive ten-part series offers insight and analysis to provide a coherent and strategic military narrative from acclaimed documentary filmmaker Jonathan Lewis.
Lawrence of Arabia
Call Number: DVD L
Publication Date: 1962
Presents the story of T.E. Lawrence (Peter O'Toole), the heroic and troubled man who organized the Arab nations to fight the Turks in World War I and then, having reached a pinnacle of power in Mideast politics, retired to postwar military obscurity.
Winner of seven Academy Awards, including Best Picture.