LibGuides: BIO 218: Understanding Cancer: Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before typing search terms and keywords into your database, remember to check off the option for Full-text articles and for Scholarly, Peer Reviewed or Refereed Journals. These options appear in all our subscription databases. When you check these options off you will receive the entire article as well as articles that contain original research.

The National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.

Google Scholar

Finding Medical and Scientific Articles

The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles dealing with health, medicine and science. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.

EBSCO Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Science Reference Center
This comprehensive source covers a wide range of science-related topics including biology, chemistry, environmental science, health, medicine, physics and wildlife. The database provides full-text articles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, magazines and journals. Biographies and images are also included.

GALE DATABASES

Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This Resource Center can be used to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on a wide range of medical and health issues. The database also provides access to reference sources including a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and a drug and herb finder.

Interlibrary Loan

Looking for an article or a book that the MCC Library does not have? We can obtain materials for you from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

If you would like us to get you an article from a journal or magazine, please fill-in this form:

If you are looking for a book that our library does not own, please fill-in this form: