Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EVS 100: Introduction to Environmental Science -- Michelle Vigue: Find Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before typing search terms and keywords into your database, remember to check off the option for Full-text articles and for Scholarly, Peer Reviewed or Refereed Journals.  These options appear in all our subscription databases.  When you check these options off you will recieve the entire article as well as articles that contain original research.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Interlibrary Loan

Looking for an article or a book that the MCC Library does not have? We can obtain materials for you from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

If you would like us to get you an article from a journal or magazine, please fill-in this form: http://www.mcc.commnet.edu/students/library/servicesInterPeriodical.php

If you are looking for a book that our library does not own, please fill-in this form: http://www.mcc.commnet.edu/students/library/servicesInterBooks.php

Article Databases

 

CQ Researcher Database:

CQ Researcher  - (1991-present) An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography.

 

EBSCO Host Databases:

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Masterfile Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

GreenFILE - GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

 

GaleNet Databases:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

 

Specialty Databases:

Credo Reference - Credo Reference includes over 3.3 million full text entries in 537 reference books. Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solver, and measurement conversions.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (on-campus use only) - Electronic version of the Encyclopedia Britannica delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and many other research tools provides a variety of reliable sources all from on database.

Films on Demand - Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the Films Demand platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, store quick links to favorite videos, and manage their entire collection.

JSTOR - Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.