Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RLS 121: Introduction to Therapeutic Recreation Services -- Archambault: Finding Articles

Resources for the Introduction to Therapeutic Recreation class available in the MCC library.

Subscription Databases

Finding reputable articles from magazines, journal and newspaper articles

The Manchester Community College Library subscribes to a number of databases that will provide you with reputable articles from a variety of sources such as magazines, journals, newspapers and, in many cases, excerpts from books.  It is important to note that these articles are not easily found on the open Web, but are available to you because you are a student, faculty or staff member at MCC.  The articles found in subscription databases have gone through some type of editing process.  Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles go through a rigorous evaluation before they are printed.  You should always look for reputable articles when conducting academic research.  The quality of the sources that you use will be reflected in your final papers.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

EBSCOHost Databases

*To access databases remotely you will be prompted to login using your NETID and PASSWORD

The following EBSCOHost Databases can be used to find reputable articles for Therapeutic Recreation.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MEDLINEprovides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINEuses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for nearly 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.2 million records dating back to 1981.

Gale Databases

*To access databases remotely you will be prompted to login using your NETID and PASSWORD

The following Gale Databases can be used to find reputable articles for Therapeutic Recreation.

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Paula Pini
Contact:
Great Path, M.S. #15, P.O. Box 1046 Manchester, CT 06045-1046
860.512.2877