Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles in Research Databases
The following subscription research databases can be used to find reputable and reliable articles on the subjects of fitness and health.
Before typing search terms and keywords into your database, remember to check off the option for Full-text articles and for Scholarly, Peer Reviewed or Refereed Journals. These options appear in all our subscription databases. When you check these options off you will receive the entire article as well as articles that contain original research.
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back-files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CINAHL with Full Text
This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
This database provides access to full text articles from more than 2,000 magazines and journals covering a wide range of subject areas including general reference, business, education, health, general science and multi-cultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database also provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,800 other publications. The database also features full text book reviews, biographies and primary source documents. An image collection of photos, maps and flags is also available.
Science Reference Center
This comprehensive source covers a wide range of science-related topics including biology, chemistry, environmental science, health, medicine, physics and wildlife. The database provides full-text articles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, magazines and journals. Biographies and images are also included.
Gale Health & Wellness
This Resource Center can be used to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on a wide range of medical and health issues. The database also provides access to reference sources including a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and a drug and herb finder.