Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EVS 130 - Sustainable Energy & the Environment - J. Pagach: Find Articles

Interlibrary Loans Service

 

Inter-library Loan Service

 

Inter-library Loan (ILL) is a service through which materials from other libraries may be borrowed.

This service is available to all Connecticut residents who own a MCC library card.

Materials available to borrow include books, periodical articles, Eric documents,music scores, and some audiovisual materials may be requested.

Complete volumes/issues of periodicals, some audio-visual materials and materials that are non-circulating or in high demand are not available for inter-library lending.

The time taken to receive an inter-library loan is affected by numerous factors, most of which are beyond the library's immediate control. Usually, it takes 1 to 3 weeks to receive a book and 4 to 10 days to receive a periodical article.

Lending libraries determine the loan period of their materials, fines as well as whether or not the renewals are allowed. A renewal request should be made 2 days prior to the due date written on the yellow slip.

There is no charge for routine use of this service. However, if costs for a loan or photocopy exceed what is customary and usual for the library, we will contact you to ask if you would be willing to pay before the item is requested.

We will contact you by phone or email as soon as we receive the material. You may pick up and return the material at the MCC Library circulation desk during our regular hours. If the book is not picked up before the due date, it will be returned to the lending library.

How to submit a request - A separate form must be filled out for each item you wish to borrow. You may submit a request by completing an Inter-library Loan Request at the Circulation Desk. You may fax us the form. You may also use our online Inter-library Loan Service by clicking the following links:

 

For bookshttps://www.manchestercc.edu/library/interlibrary-loans/book-request-form/

For articles and audiovisualshttps://www.manchestercc.edu/library/interlibrary-loans/periodical-request-form/

 

*The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the Law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of the Copyright Law.

Finding Scholarly Articles in an Ebsco Database

Recommended Databases & Descriptions

EBSCO Host Databases:

GreenFILE - GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Science Reference CenterScience Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Masterfile Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

GaleNet Databases:

Health Reference Center Academic - Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

Specialty Databases:

Credo Reference - Credo Reference includes over 3.3 million full text entries in 537 reference books. Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solver, and measurement conversions.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online (on-campus use only) - Electronic version of the Encyclopedia Britannica delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and many other research tools provides a variety of reliable sources all from on database.

Films on Demand - Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the Films Demand platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, store quick links to favorite videos, and manage their entire collection.

JSTOR - Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

CQ Researcher Database:

CQ Researcher  - (1991-present) An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography.