Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Word on Background Information
Locating background information on your topic will help you to learn the basics about your topic (e.g., key ideas, key writings, and key thinkers/theorists). Background sources will also help you narrow your topic to a specific subject area in the study of race and ethnic relations.
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and subject dictionaries are good places to start for locating background information on your selected topic.
Also checkout the Statistics tab in this libguide for additional background sources.
CQ Researcher An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography. Covers 1991 - present.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Includes over 3.3 million full text entries in 537 reference books. Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solver, and measurement conversions.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Its scope, combined with consistent headings throughout each essay, and more than 250 photographs and illustrations and subject index combine to make it the most complete and accessible source available.
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Multicultural America by This comprehensive title is among the first to extensively use newly released 2010 U.S. Census data to examine multiculturalism today and tomorrow in America.
Publication Date: 2013-09-05
The African American Almanac by The most complete and affordable single volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America. A legacy of pride, struggle, and triumph spanning more than 400 years is presented through a fascinating mix of biographies including more than 750 influential figures little known or misunderstood historical facts, enlightening essays on significant legislation and movements, and 150 rare photographs and illustrations.
Publication Date: 2011-11-04
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture The critically acclaimed first edition of the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (1996) was hailed as a seminal work in the field, receiving numerous awards, including a Dartmouth Medal Honorable Mention Citation. The new, fully updated Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, Second Edition, expands upon the original set with more than 560 entirely new entries and revisions to hundreds more.
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Suggested Print Reference Sources in the Library
Below is a selection of subject specific print reference books in the library. Click on the links to go to the catalog record.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by In nearly seven hundred entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass - and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Call Number: REF E185 .E545 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Asian American History and Culture by With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.
Call Number: REF E184.A75 A8287 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-15