Skip to main content

Race and Ethnic Relations: Web Resources

Selected Web Resources

 Race and Ethnicity (American Sociological Association)

The American Sociological Association is the official national organization for sociologists. The “Race and Ethnicity” topics page provides links to recent news, featured research, and teaching resources related to the study of race and ethnic relations. The page also includes links to related topics, such as, immigration, racism, and specific racial-ethnic groups.


Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement

The Archive contains over 3,000 images of photographs, lantern slides, correspondence, journals, texts, manuscripts, charts, and data -- including extensive collections from noted eugenicists.


 Is Race Real? (Social Science Research Council)

A web forum organized by the Social Science Research Council (SSRC). Provides a series of short essays by leading researchers with a diverse set of disciplinary and analytic perspectives on race and genomics. 


 Matters of Race

The companion website to the documentary film by the same title. The companion site Includes essays, audio visuals, and interactive statistics focused the social construction of race, racial divides, “reverse racism,” the historical construction of American Indian “otherness,” America’s changing racial composition, and other “matters of race."


 Race: Are we so Different?

A project of the American Anthropological Society, this site looks at race through three lenses: history, human variation, and lived experience to explain differences among people and the (un)reality of race. The site includes interactive time lines and activities, essays, visual media, bibliographies, a glossary, and related websites. 


 Race: The Power of an Illusion

The companion website to the documentary film by the same title.  The site provides background readings, interactive exercises including a sorting exercise, timeline, quizzes, and an interactive history of the role of government policies and discriminatory practices in creating inequalities.


 Scholars Strategy Network

“The Scholars Strategy Network seeks to improve public policy and strengthen democracy by organizing scholars working in America's colleges and universities, and connecting scholars and their research to policymakers, citizens associations, and the media.” Hover over the “Policy Briefs & Spotlights” tab and select “Race and Ethnicity” or “Immigrants and Immigration Reform” from the “Society and Social Issues” section. You may also navigate to these pages by clicking the links provided here.


 Race (The Society Pages)

The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota. The “Race” topics page provides articles and blogs written by scholars in the field of race and ethnic relations. Scroll down to the “Community Pages” section at the bottom of the page to explore related links, including The Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Sociological Images, and the Sociology Toolbox. You may also navigate to these pages by clicking the links provided here.


What the Census Calls Us (Pew Research Center) 

Explore the different race, ethnicity and origin categories used in the U.S. decennial census, from the first one in 1790 to the latest count in 2010. The category names often changed in a reflection of current politics, science and public attitudes. 

How to Evaluate Websites

Does your source pass the C.R.A.A.P. test?

When selecting web resources to include in your research, it is important to consider the Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose of the sites you are visiting.

Click on the link below to watch a two-minute video that shows you how to evaluate websites using the CRAAP test:

Use this C.R.A.A.P. test worksheet produced by Juniata College to evaluate websites you come across in your own research.