Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HPE 105: Introduction to Exercise Science Career Prospectus- Linda Magee

Find articles on Health and Medicine

 

The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles dealing with health, medicine and science. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO's Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines.

MEDLINE  provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL  is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981.

Academic Search Premier  Academic Search Premier indexes and abstracts over 8,000 journals. Of the 8,000 plus titles, the database provides full-text access for more than 4,500 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. The topics range among all areas of academic pursuit including arts and literature, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics.

Science Reference Center  This comprehensive source covers a wide range of science-related topics including biology, chemistry, environmental science, health, medicine, physics and wildlife. The database provides full-text articles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, magazines and journals. Biographies and images are also included.

Gale Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Company and Business Information