Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSC 101: Introduction to Computers: Citing Sources in MLA

Guide to assist Prof. Sandra Rimetz's CSC 101 students with the final research project.

Citation Management Tools

The following are free, online citation tools:

  • EasyBib -- Offers MLA bibliography generator for free. Also available as a free add-on in Google Docs.
  • NoodleTools Express -- Generates citations for MLA, but does not let you export to word processor or save citations. Advanced features require a subscription
  • Zbib.org -- ZoteroBib is a free bibliography generator.
Most Library catalogs, like MCC Search, and research databases, like History Reference Center, will format citations for you, but beware! The formatting isn't always perfect, so make sure it contains the required MLA elements and is formatted correctly!

MLA Style Resources

What's a Citation?

In your academic work you are expected to provide references to the sources of information you used. These references are called citations. A list of citations is referred to as a bibliography. Providing citations serves several purposes:

  • You show where you got the ideas, text, or images for your paper. That is being academically honest!
  • Your bibliography shows how credible your work is, depending on the quality of sources you used.
  • Your readers can locate the sources you consulted and follow your research trail.

MLA citation example of journal article in a database

Quick MLA Examples - Works Cited

Book with a Single Author:

Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. Publisher, Year.

Miller, Michael. Fake News: Separating Truth from Fiction.Twenty-First Century Books, 2019.

Book with Two Authors:

Last name, First Name, and First name Last Name. Title: Subtitle. Edition, Publisher, Year. 

Grimes, Corinne, and Sandra Swick. Nursing School Entrance Exams. 3rd ed., Barron Educational Series, Inc., 2007.

Book with More Than One Editor:

Last name, First Name. Title: Subtitle. Edited by First Name Last Name and First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year.

Obama, Barack. We are the Change We Seek. Edited by E.J. Dionne and Joy-Ann Reid, Bloomsbury, 2017.

Video of Speech/Talk Found on the Web:

Speaker last name, First name. "Title." Website Name, uploaded by username (if applicable), date uploaded, URL (omit http://)

Jobs, Steve. "Steve Jobs Stanford Commencement Speech 2005." YouTube, uploaded by joshuag, 6 Mar. 2006, www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1R-jKKp3NA.

Rahwan, Iyad. "What Moral Decisions Should Driverless Cars Make?” TED, Sept. 2016, www.ted.com/talks/iyad_rahwan_what_moral_decisions_should_driverless_cars_make?language=en

Transcript of a Speech on a Website:

Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of the Article or Individual Page.” Title of the Website, Name of the publisher, Date the resource was published, URL.

Obama, Barack. “President Obama’s Farewell Address.” The White House, The United States Government, 10 Jan. 2017, www.whitehouse.gov/farewell.

Newspaper Article in a Research Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper, Date, Page(s). Title of the Database, URL (omit http). Date accessed.

Waters, Richard. "Google Activist Employee Quits to Focus on AI Ethics." Los Angeles Times, 17 July 2019, p. C2. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/2258517123?accountid=39196. Accessed 9 Jan. 2020.

Miner, Luke. "For a Better Life, Share Your Data." New York Times, 27 May 2019, p. A19(L). Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A586784926/OVIC?u=22511&sid=OVIC&xid=161c026b. Accessed 9 Jan. 2020.

Magazine/Journal Article in a Research Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Source, Volume, Issue, Date, Page(s). Title of the Database, URL (omit http). Date accessed.

Surowiecki, James. “Robopocalypse Not: Everyone Thinks That Automation Will Take Away Our Jobs. The Evidence Disagrees.” Wired, vol. 25, no. 9, Sept. 2017, pp 60-65. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=124711317&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 9 Jan. 2020.