ENG 280 Creative Writing: Nonfiction
This course is intended for students interested in reading, analyzing and writing longer nonfiction pieces suitable for magazine and journal audiences. Students will read and discuss a variety of creative nonfiction works, which may include personal and expository essays, memoir, biography or travel writing, and will practice writing techniques to produce their own nonfiction works, which they will share with their fellow students. The semester will culminate in a final project of at least 2,000 words in length.
Prerequisites: ENG* 101 with a grade of C or better, or permission of the instructor.
MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:
Databases that May be Useful
Biography in Context (Gale) - This is an excellent source that provides biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines and subject areas.
CQ Researcher - (1991-present) An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography.
Credo Reference - Credo Reference includes over 3.3 million full-text entries in 537 reference books. Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solvers and measurement conversions. This is a great place to begin researching a topic.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (on-campus use only) - Electronic version of the Encyclopedia Britannica delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and many other research tools provides a variety of reliable sources all from on database.
Oxford English Dictionary - The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words—past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
ProQuest Historical Newspaper Hartford Courant - The Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922 ) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
National Newspapers (ProQuest) - This database provides access to newspaper articles in the Hartford Courant, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor and Los Angeles Times. Full-text coverage varies depending on the particular newspaper.
New York Times Group Pass - Activate a one-year pass for full access to the New York Times online (nytimes.com), including current and older material (1851-present). An email address is required for account creation. For more information about activation and general FAQs, please visit our NYT LibGuide.
Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) - Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms (ex. LLC and partnership agreement templates).
Reference USA - Reference USA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. It provides real-time access to information about 24 million businesses and 262 million consumers.
Statista - Statista is a service that aggregates data sets from over 18,000 public and proprietary sources. The service provides tools that allow you to create beautiful charts that can be downloaded as PDF, Excel, PowerPoint, or graphics formats. Statista sources cover business and industry as well as education, politics and social issues.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) - U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
World History in Context (Gale) - World History in Context provides an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people, reaching back to the ancient world and forward to today’s headlines. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content put this vast topic into context for students.