Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 096 Introduction to College English - W. Haynes: Home

Library Hours & Contacts

Library Hours

 

Semester Hours

Monday & Tuesday: 2pm - 7pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 9am - 2pm
Friday - Sunday: CLOSED 
Library Online: 24/7

Hours vary when courses are not in session and during intersession. See complete hours listing »

Contact Us


Search

MCC Search logo

MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:

  • Renew books and videos
  • Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
  • Create favorites lists
  • View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)

More Search Options

English 96 Introduction to College English

 

 

ENG* 096: Introduction to College English

Prepares students for the reading and writing demands in Composition and other college-level courses by integrating reading, writing, and critical thinking. Student writing will focus on understanding, reporting on, reacting to, and analyzing the ideas of others. Texts will serve as models and sources for students to refine their skills in exposition, interpretation, and argumentation. Students learn and practice specific college-level skills through critical reading and writing, class discussions, lectures, group presentations, or workshops. This course does not satisfy an English requirement or an elective in any degree program, nor do its credits count toward graduation. 
 

Book Report Assignment

Book Analysis

Select a book written by one of the authors on the list given to you.  After reading the book you are to write a critical analysis of the book that is no less than three pages and organized in essay format.  The analysis must consist of an Introduction, Body and a Conclusion.  The analysis must be typed in 12 font and double-spaced.  Please consider and discuss the following in your analysis.

  • How would you describe the main character (s) of the book you selected? For example,   is he/she likeable, strong, etc.?  What is it about this character that gives you this impression?
  • How does the character handle conflict?  What in the book helped you to come to this conclusion?  How does the way the character handle conflict influence your opinion of the character?  Why?
  • How do other characters in the book relate to and react to the main character? Why do you think they relate or react in this way?
  • Where does the story take place?  Do you think the environment has an affect on the characters in the book?  Explain.
  • Why do you think the author wrote this book?
  • Who is the author writing this book for? Does he/she use any symbolism?  Explain.
  • What is the message in the book? 
  • Is there a technique the author uses to get his message across?  What is it?
  • Would you recommend this book to someone else?  Why?

In the introduction of your analysis you should include the title of your book and the author’s name.  You must have a title page.  The title page must include the title of the book, the author’s name, your name, the professor’s name, the class, and the date.

Recommended Authors

Recommended Authors for Book Analysis

  1. Toni Morrison
  2. J.D. Salinger
  3. Maya Angelou
  4. Terry McMillan
  5. Eugene O’Neill
  6. Anne Tyler
  7. Stephen King
  8. Shakespeare
  9. Ralph Ellison
  10. James Baldwin
  11. T.S. Elliot
  12. Ernest Hemingway
  13. D.H. Lawrence
  14. Arthur Miller
  15. Richard Wright
  16. Ray Bradbury
  17. Alice Walker
  18. George Orwell
  19. Charles Dickens
  20. John Steinbeck
  21. S. E. Hinton
  22. Zora Neale Hurston

Subject Guide

Evelyn Angry-Smith's picture
Evelyn Angry-Smith
Contact:
MCC Library
Great Path PO Box 1046
MS #15
Manchester CT 06045
860.512.2874
Website
Subjects:English

Find Articles

EBSCO Host Databases:

Academic Search Premier - This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

GALE Databases:

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

 

Professor Wanda Haynes Contact Information

Office: AST T313

Office Hours: MW 11:00am- 12:00pm (other times by appointment only)

Office Telephone: 860.512.2691

Email: whaynes@mcc.commnet.edu