Skip to main content

COM 173 - Public Speaking A. Kim

This guide will help you find information on the subject of public speaking. You will also find topics that will serve as the focus of your speeches.

Public Speaking

COM* 173: Public Speaking
This course is designed to encourage students to develop their speaking and listening skills in order to become more confident communicators. The course introduced students to communication as an interactive process and emphasizes developing effective public presentation skills. Instruction stresses organization, research, writing, delivery and audience adaptation.

Persuasive Speeches Resources

Recommended databases to find information for persuasive speeches

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.

CQ Researcher  - (1991-present) An excellent full-text source for in-depth information on topics of current interest, such as nuclear proliferation, world hunger, global warming and child labor. Each full-text article may include a pro/con discussion, photos, charts, graphs, a chronology of the issue and a bibliography.

Statista - Statista is a service that aggregates data sets from over 18,000 public and proprietary sources. The service provides tools that allow you to create beautiful charts that can be downloaded as PDF, Excel, PowerPoint, or graphics formats. Statista sources cover business and industry as well as education, politics and social issues.

Fortune 500 Companies

Companies are ranked by total revenues for their respective fiscal years. Included in the survey are companies that are incorporated in the U.S. and operate in the U.S. and file financial statements with a government agency. This includes private companies and cooperatives that file a 10-K or a comparable financial statement with a government agency, and mutual insurance companies that file with state regulators. It also includes companies that file with a government agency but are owned by private companies, domestic or foreign, that do not file such financial statements. Excluded are private companies not filing with a government agency; companies incorporated outside the U.S.; and U.S. companies consolidated by other companies, domestic or foreign, that file with a government agency. Also excluded are companies that failed to report full financial statements for at least three-quarters of the current fiscal year. Percent change calculations for revenue, net income, and earnings per share are based on data as originally reported. They are not restated for mergers, acquisitions, or accounting changes. The only changes to the prior years’ data are for significant restatement due to reporting errors that require a company to file an amended 10-K.ds of the U.S. GDP with $12 trillion in revenues, $890 billion in profits, In total, Fortune 500 companies represent two-thirds of the U.S. GDP with $12 trillion in revenues, $890 billion in profits, $19 trillion in market value, and employ 28.2 million people worldwide.$19 trillion in market value, and employ 28.2 million people worldwide.

JobNow

Job Now! Database:

Job Now! - JobNow provides expert resume help, real-time interview coaching and career advice. You can work one-on-one online with a tutor or job coach through JobNow and the Adult Learning Center. The Adult Learning Center features test preparation (including GED and U.S. citizenship preparation), writing assistance, and study tools for math, reading and writing. Live help is also available for Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint.

Charity Navigator Guide