Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.
Library Hours & Contacts
Radiologic and MRI Technologists
Radiologic technologists, also known as radiographers, perform diagnostic imaging examinations, such as x rays, on patients. MRI technologists operate magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanners to create diagnostic images. - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Finding Medical and Scientific Articles
The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles dealing with health, medicine and science. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.
CINAHL with Full Text
This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Science Reference Center
This comprehensive source covers a wide range of science-related topics including biology, chemistry, environmental science, health, medicine, physics and wildlife. The database provides full-text articles from leading scientific encyclopedias, reference books, magazines and journals. Biographies and images are also included.
Health & Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module
This Resource Center can be used to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on a wide range of medical and health issues. The database also provides access to reference sources including a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and a drug and herb finder.
Use the MCC Online Catalog to find hard copy and electronic books as well as DVDs and CDs. Books can be charged out for 3 weeks and can be renewed.
What is Plagiarism?
Plagiarism is simply using someone's work and not acknowledging or giving credit to the original author(s).
I am plagiarizing if I:
- Intentionally duplicate or copy another person's work including copying directly from an article, book, or website
- Copy another student's assignment(s)
- Paraphrase another person's work, while making only minor changes and not changing the meaning or ideas presented by the original author(s)
- Copy sections of another person's work and piece these sections together to create a new whole
- Turn in an assignment that has been previously submitted for assessment and then take credit for the assignment
- Turn in an assignment as independent work when the assignment was produced in whole or part in collusion with another student(s), tutor(s), or person(s)